WhatsApp is taking its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature (one that lets
users recall/delete their messages) to a new level. You’ll recall that
WhatsApp rolled out its most anticipated feature, ‘Delete for Everyone’
, in 2017 that allowed over one billion users to revoke their messages in
a private or group conversation.
The users could only delete messages for everyone for up to seven
minutes after sending. “Once seven minutes have passed, there is no
way to delete messages for everyone,” Facebook-owned WhatsApp had said
in its updated FAQ.
But there is a little adjustment as sported by WABetainfo on a new updated
feature. The most recent WhatsApp beta (v2.18.69) for Android now gives
users up to 4,096 seconds (68 minutes and 16 seconds) to delete a
message for everyone in a chat. Currently, in stable builds.
This release is currently available for Android beta and would soon find its
way to iOS and windows phone users. WhatsApp had been working on this feature
for almost a year.
Messages that the user successfully deletes for everyone will be replaced
with “This message was deleted” in the recipients’ chats.